In conjunction with watching Oliver Stone’s Untold History of the United States, I have been listening to 1984 for the first time. Additionally research into the history of rhetoric has been at the forefront of my mind. The unfortunate reality is how divorced we are from reality. Even being informed has little effect on inciting action for change. How many millions believe the United States directly created the 9/11/2001 terrorist attacks. Multiple faux documentaries present compelling evidence that this was an inside job. Yet there are no riots about this. Many of just stay at home, and nod politely in agreement when this topic comes up in social settings. Does that also make us complicit? And then diplomats and defense contractors collude to create foreign policy. Good for profit. Very good.

Everything is uncertain. What is one to do? Will I tell my children I watched the elite exploit and pervert while I sat at home playing video games? Life is a war. Will I be like a pet kept in my metaphorical cage? Why do I distaste injustice so much when I do not suffer? The oligarchy has created such a lovely and safe playground for me. Unless I weaken the walls or break the ‘rules’ I will be left alone. Where does my idea that using others for my benefit is wrong come from? Is that not capitalism!? Alas I am still so immature. This philosophical battle was fought decades ago. Surely there must have been a resolution…

 

 

 

